Balance Depends on Quality

My intern asked me, “What is the right balance of work and life?”

First, I hate the term work/life balance. I think it sets up an unrealistic expectation – that somehow we need equality between these two places; that they are inherently poised on opposite sides of some cosmic fulcrum; that time or pleasure or commitment or energy must be equalized between the two.

I prefer to seek quality of work and life. I’d like to love them both, whether I am spending 1 or 100 hours on either one in a given week. If I’m happy with the time I spend, I’m probably in the right “balance.”

Quality in work and life creates balance. Balance in work and life does not indicate quality.

Leave a Reply

